From The Inside Out


Best known as one half of Sepalcure with Machinedrum, Praveen Sharma recently returned to the fore as Braille with the ‘Everyone’s Crazy’ EP on Friends Of Friends which signalled something of a move away to his previous dancefloor material on Rush Hour And Hotflush in favour of a more song orientated approach. His debut album ‘Mute Swan’ under the name is set for a release through the Los Angeles label, who say Sharma ‘inverts hip-hop and house music influences into a deeply humanist, guest vocal-filled journey’ over eleven original compositions which are heavy on the emotional side of things, brought together by a strong narrative which runs through the release. A highlight is the skewed bass workout of ‘Better Than Nothing’ featuring Angelica Bess, which seemingly borrows it’s classic rave stabs from ‘Good Life’ by Inner City, and he’s further joined by previously collaborator Seafloor alongside Jesse Boykins III, Throwing Snow and Olivia Sholler for what is ultimately a finely crafted, engaging long player. Former Sepalcure partner Machinedrum has given ‘Everyone’s Crazy’ a jazzy, junglist re-rub which is available for free download.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s